Posted on

The anniversary race on the Rechberg attracts the best mountain racing drivers from all over Europe

247 participants from 18 nations come to the Almenland

Organizer team anticipates a huge rush of fans

The Rechbergrennen, which has been held on the Rechberg in the Almenland region since 1972 and is being held for the 50th time this year, is one of the most important motorsport events in Austria and is obviously incredibly popular with the teams.

From historic vehicles and brand-new touring cars to brute formula cars, everything is represented that delights the motorsport heart.

247 entries received were received by the organizers up to the last second of the entry deadline: “Some teams made it really exciting, because we knew they were coming, but the entry didn’t arrive. But now we can proudly say that we are one of the biggest hill climb races in Europe!” said a visibly delighted Helmut Schöpf, the race director on the Rechberg.

The organizing trio Mario Klammer, Peter Eibisberger and Christian Ferstl “The fact alone that we are able to welcome drivers from 18 nations shows just how famous and sought-after our beautiful race track is throughout Europe. And everything is in place for our 50th race on the Rechberg. There will be even more entertainment for the fans in the form of helicopter flights and an additional video wall in the finish area on the Strobl straight.”

A look at the entry statistics

Overall nomination result: 247
EHC (European Championship Modern) 62
HHC (European Championship Historical)47
ÖBM (Austrian Mountain Championship Modern) 132
ÖBMH (Austrian Mountain Championship Historical) 42

18 nations

Austria (152)
Czech Republic (26)
Italy (19)
Germany (9)
Slovenia (8)
France (6)
Switzerland and Croatia (5 each)
Poland and Slovakia (3)
Spain, Hungary and Montenegro (2 each)
Belgium, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia (1 each)

And the entry list features big names from the mountain elite:

Christian Merli (ITA), Alexander Hin (DEU), Christoph Lampert (AUT), Fausto Bormolini (ITA), Joseba Iraola Lanzagorta (ESP), Marcel Steiner (CHE), Kevin Petit (FRA), Reto Meisel (CHE), Jörg Weidinger (DEU)…to name but a few.